Hypocrisy in our Politics is Legendary: David Boakye (Bono East Regional Secretary, NPP)

In 2016, John Mahama had 25 Ministries but ended with 24 Ministers because Petroleum resigned and finance minister was acting. He had 5 Ministers of State, 34 deputy Ministers and 20 Regional and Deputy Regional Ministers.

He ended his government with 83 Ministers with 10 regions in Ghana. Nana Addo has 86 Ministers with 16 regions, no Deputy Regional Minister,

So where from this hypocrisy of large government NDC is talking about.

Breakdown of Mahama’s Ministers

1.Ministers                       24

2.Ministers of State         5

3.Deputy Ministers          34

4.Regional Ministers       10

5.Deputy Regional Ministers 10

Total                                       83

Details  of Ministers

  1. Foreign Affairs- Hannah S. Tetteh
  2. Interior- Prosper Douglas Bani
  3. Finance and Economic Planning- Seth Tekper
  4. Defence- Benjamin Kumbour
  5. Attorney General Minister of Justice- Marieta Brew Appiah-Oppong
  6. Education- Prof. Naana Opoku Agyemang
  7. Food and Agriculture- Alhaji  Limuna Muniru Mohammed
  8. Trade and Industry- Ekow Spio-Garbrah
  9. Health – Alex Segbefia
  10. Local Government and Rural Development- Alhaji Collins Dauda
  11. Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts- Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare
  12. Energy- Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah
  13. Transport- Fiifi Fiavi- Kwartey
  14. Roads and Highways- Inusah Fuseini
  15. Lands and Natural Resources- Nii Osah Mills
  16. Communications – Edward Omane Boamah
  17. Environment, Science and Technology- Mahama Ayariga
  18. Employment and Labour  Relations- Haruna Iddrisu
  19. Water Resources, Works and Housing- Kwaku Agyemang Mensah
  20. Fisheries and Aquah Culture Relations- Henry-Sherry Ayitey
  21. Youth and Sports- Nii Lantey Vanderpuye
  22. Gender, Children and Social Protection- Nana Oye  Lithur
  23. Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs- Henry Seidu Daanaa
  24. Government Business in Parliament- Alban Sumanna Kingsford Bagbin


Ministers of State Presidency

25.Public Sector Reform- Alhassan Azong

26.Development Authorities- Mustapha Ahmed

27.Financial and Alied Institutions- Elvis Afriyie Ankrah

28.Social and Allied Institutions- Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe Ghansah

29.Public Private Partnership- Alhaji Abdul Rashid Pelpuo.

Deputy Ministers

1.Foreign Affairs: Emmanuel Habuka Bombande

2.Attorney General and Justice: Dr. Dominic Ayine

3.Defence: Kenneth Gilbert Adjei

4.Finance and Economic Planning: Cassiel Ato Forson and Mrs. Mona Quartey

5.Interior: James Agalga

6.Agriculture: Dr. Hannah Bissiw and Dr. Alhassan Ahmed Yakubu

7.Communications: Felix Kwakye Ofosu and Ato Sarpong

8.Education: Samuel Okudzeto-Ablakwa and Alex Kofi Kyeremeh

9.Employment and Labour Relations: Baba Jamal

10.Transport: Mrs. Joyce Bawa Mogtari

11.Health: Dr. Victor Asare Bampoe

12.Lands and Natural Resources: Barbara Serwaa Asamoah and  Ebenezer Okletey Tei Larbi

13.Environment, Science and Technology: Dr. Bernice Heloo and Dr. Alfred Sugre Tia

14.Local Government and Rural Development: Emmanuel Agyekum and John Oti Bless

15.Water Resources, Works and Housing: Sampson Ahi and Johnny Osei Kofi

16.Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts: Dzifa Gomashie

17.Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs: Effah Baafi

18.Energy: John Abdulai Jinapor and Benjamin Dagadu

19.Roads and Highways: Isaac Adjei Mensah

20.Youth and Sports: Vincent Oppong Asamoah

21.Gender, Children and Social Protection: Mrs Dela Sowah and  John Alexander Ackon

22.Fisheries and Aquah Culture: Mrs.  Benita  Okity Duah

23.Trade and Industry: Kwaku Ricketts Hagan and Murtala Mohammed

Regional Ministers


  1. Ashanti- Samuel Sarpong
  2. Brong Ahafo- Eric Opoku
  3. Central- Acquinas Tawiah Quansah
  4. Eastern- Mavis Ama Frimpong
  5. Greater Accra- Nii Laryea Afotey Agbo
  6. Northern- Alhaji Abdallah Abubakari
  7. Upper East- James Zoogah Tiigah
  8. Upper West- Alhaji Amidu Sulemana
  9. Volta- Helen Adjoa Ntoso
  10. Western- Paul Evans Aidoo

Deputy Regional Ministers


  1. Ashanti- Joseph Yamin
  2. Brong Ahafo- Justice Samuel Adjei
  3. Central- Quinster Pokua Sawyerr
  4. Eastern- Joseph Tetteh Angmor
  5. Greater Accra- Isaac Nii Djanmah Vanderpuye
  6. Northern- Alhaji A.B.A Fuseini
  7. Upper East- Daniel  Aweyue Syme
  8. Upper West- Dr Mohammed Alfa
  9. Volta- Francis Komla Ganyaglo
  10. Western- Alfred Ekow Gyan





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial