Five Ghanaian MPs caught Up In Protest In Kenya

Five Ghanaian lawmakers and a clerk found themselves in the midst of chaos as protestors besieged the Kenyan Parliament this Tuesday afternoon.

The Members of Parliament involved are Emmanuel Gyamfi, the chairman, Nii Lantey Vanderpuye, Thomas Ampem, Sylvester Tetteh, and Mohammed Tuferu.

Emmanuel Akwasi Gyamfi, MP for Odotobri Constituency

Hundreds of anti-Finance Bill protesters stormed the Parliament building hours after police shot several demonstrators outside.

The protesters also set fire to several police vehicles, escalating the tension around the legislature.

Nii Lantey Vanderpuye, MP for Odododiodio

This unprecedented event in Kenya’s history saw protesters breaking barriers and accessing the Parliament despite heavy security.

The chaos erupted shortly after MPs voted to approve the Finance Bill, 2024, which imposes new taxes.

Thomas Nyarko Ampem, MP for Asuogyaman Constituency

The Ghanaian parliamentarians, part of the Local Government Committee, were in Kenya on a study visit along with counterparts from Namibia and Malawi.

They were present in Parliament when the protesters broke in.

Sylvester Matthew Tetteh, MP for Bortianor-Ngleshie Amanfro

“We are safe in Nairobi. We were lucky to escape unhurt today. We, however, inhaled a bit of teargas. We had to be escorted to a bunker and later to a safer place,” Nii Lantey Vanderpuye reported.

Mohammed Tuferu, MP for Nanton

Source: Ghana/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial